Evaluation: 4.)Who would be the audience for your opening sequence?

IMAG2907

The audience for my opening sequence is people aged 15 and over, but mainly teenagers. the picture shows the ages which i mainly aimed it at. My film classification would be a 15 as there would be swearing and blood etc. Many horror films which are aged 15 focuses on psychological scares than actual violence, this would be because they are young enough to try and copy what is happening. We decided this in the early stages of research so that we could look at films which would be appropriate, as we rated our film a 15, it gave us a wider range of people which would watch the film because this could go up to young adults whereas an 18 would limit the amount of people which would watch it.

Many horror films are rated a 15 as an 18 includes full nudity. In the opening sequence I tried to show that it was a 15 by using strong language (bitch) this would be used throughout the film, we used it twice in the opening sequence one was written and the other one was spoken. 15’s also include partial nudity I showed this in the opening sequence with the bath scene, later on in the film more violence would happen to show it’s a 15. The audience would be teenagers as those are the age of the characters which I used so they can relate to what is happening in the film and is more likely to enjoy it. I knew that I wanted to do a horror film so I conducted questionnaires on the people which would watch my films, this would help me decide what I was going to make and help me correctly aim my product at the target audience.  Horror is a popular genre which hasn’t been fully explored yet.ring A lot of the people which I interviewed said that their favourite horror film was the ring because it has a lot of psychological elements. The film is just a simple idea but it is made to be scary with the makeup and the face, and the way in which the character walked. I tried to do this with my character as I put her in a similar outfit (all white) and I made her walk moving her head. A lot of the other films which people mentioned used certain clothes to make them different to the other characters; I used similar clothes to help attract the audience as it is similar to the films which they already like.

Leave a comment